Raspberry Ikea Dragan robe as Airplaybox

Raspberry projects

Friday, September 12, 2014

Web001

The first attempts to use the Raspberry as airplay receiver were successful and I have chosen me a new project.Together with a small speaker and a small box to receive music and podcast from the IPhone and reflect the Raspberry.

I’ve acquired neither the small 1×1 speaker construction during the planning phase, yet I have spent nights with manuals for tools for calculation of loudspeaker cabinets and crossovers. Also, the components used in a price segment that is audiophile market participants consistently punished with absolute non-compliance. Who HiFi  Equipment hangs off the high four-figure range and only lossless music hoards, please continue reading sitting in the other. It is cheap 🙂

As mentioned at the Raspberry in a small box to be found at home. Together with a speaker, amplifier and all the other stuff because no matter how obtained.

Looking for a small but beautiful robe for my Raspberry I came across bamboo boxes from IKEA. The Swedish furniture store sells the box under the name of Dragan .

As an amplifier I have a M032N KEMO chosen. As a speaker I use a Visaton FRS8 . The power consumption of the amplifier is from 8 to 16 volts direct current. I decided for the golden mean and use a power supply with 12V.Firstly, because I had on the other because I use a USB adapter for car receptacles without much money and effort the 5V for the Raspberry   get changed.

After the first few attempts I found that but everything is very tight in the box. After some try I have the best arrangement found in the Raspberry is mounted directly under the box. On one side next to the Speaker will then find the Kemo amplifier and on the other side of my voltage converter.

Looking for some approaches I’m on the side instructables.com stumbled on which zwuckl a similar box describes. I’ve acquired from there the circuit and adapted to my needs. That is, in essence, I have decided on a logarithmic potentiometer (R4). The resistors and the potentiometer I have at Reichelt ordered.

For powering the Raspberry I have a USB adapter freed from his plastic dress and soldered the wires to the terminals.

03.Spannungswandler

2V to 5V DC converter … outboxed

The assemble of the housing was far from difficult as the Mc Gyver gene obviously missing me. Piece by piece I’ve built use for the box together. The results are plain to see before:

Schaltung

First draft of the boxes Einstzes

Unfortunately has been found that this does not work so just as planned. So reassemble it at the beginning and again. The degenerating somehow 3D Tetris … but I am successful.

I unsoldered from the Pi Composie output and then could these so upside down to use on the Backplanel. I have stuck to one of the struts and the voltage converter and the music output (including stereo to mono circuit) the amplifier einigermasen within the insert Fixed …. The whole thing looks like this:

05.Rohgeh_use 06.zweiterVersuch

second design for the IKEA PI

06b.Bezogen
The speaker and the front page I have covered with some cloth. The result is quite clear in the opinion of third parties …. what do you say?
07a.Front
Then assembled the box and onto the catwalk: from Front07.Seitenansicht

From the page:

08.Heck

and Rear:

The box is ready! But what are the intrinsic values? The configuration of the Raspberry I screw together before performed because until completion of the network configuration with USB keyboard and HDMI worked.

As OS I have a Rasbian used, I’ve freed from all unnecessary ballast. In addition I have uninstalled the following packages:

sudo apt-get purge console-setup desktop. * desktop-base dillo gnome. * gsfonts gtk. * gvfs. * libgtk. * libqt. * libxcb. * libxfont. * libxt. * lightdm lxde. * lxpanel omxplayer openbox penguin puzzle python . python3-tk tk shared-mime-info tcl * x11 * xarchiver xauth xdg -.. * xkb-data xinit xserver * tungsten.
Then, of course, bring the rest up to date:

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade
I have also yet updated the firmware of the PI:

sudo update-rpi
Then comes the configuration of the wireless Adaptes in which the file / etc / network / interfaces is adjusted.First, I add the wireless key on the end of the file added:

sudo wpa_passphrase test network test phrase >> / etc / network / interfaces
From the added content and the configuring / etc interfaces file / network / edited. The result should look like this:

sudo nano / etc / network / interfaces

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
allow-hotplug wlan0
auto wlan0
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
wpa-ssid “ssid”
wpa-psk “password”
Then the network is restarted:

sudo ifdown wlan0 && sudo ifup wlan0
A look at the ifconfig shows the wireless adapter has an address from the DHCP server address space of my relative.

sudo ifconfig
After configuring the network more packages are installed, which are required for Shairport:

sudo apt-get install git libao-dev libssl-dev openssl rsa-libcrypt-perl libio-socket-inet6-perl libwww-perl avahi-utils libmodule-build-perl
Once this is done the perl module perl-net-sdp is still instlliert. Where I just am not sure if this is needed for the version of Shairport, which I use.

git clone https://github.com/njh/perl-net-sdp.git perl-net-sdp
cd perl-net-sdp
perl Build.PL
./Build
./Build Test
./Build Install
CD
Okay the basis for Shairport is set, now comes the Shairport installation itself.

git clone https://github.com/abrasive/shairport.git shairport
cd shairport
./configure
make
make install
I can already test the result in the command I ausführe following:

./shairport -a TestAIR
Super work and now I copy the scripts that are needed to start Shairport on boot:

cp /opt/shairport/scripts/debian/init.d/shairport /etc/init.d
cp / opt / shairport / scripts / debian / default / shairport / etc / default
then the file will be made executable and provided with a runlevel:

chmod a + x /etc/init.d/shairport
update-rc.d defaults shairport
Now the configuration file will be adjusted by shairport:

nano /etc/init.d/shairport
In the line 30 the name for AirPlay is awarded, under what I find your unit:

AP_NAME = $ (hostname)
is to:

AP_NAME = MyAIRPI
To save the file, and last but not least the service of Shairport start:

service shairport start
The Raspberry running, even after a reboot Shairport is visible! and above all he has a nice body!

